Close
Login to Your Account
PRC Polaris Ranger Club - Powered by vBulletin

The Ranger is running on one cylinder

This is a discussion on The Ranger is running on one cylinder within the Ranger Technical forums, part of the Polaris Ranger Forums category; Started today, nothing has been changed for 20 hrs. It idles rough, it did kill once but started right up, it's about 20 to 40 ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: The Ranger is running on one cylinder

  1. #1
    (Pat) Regular Member dr4pat's Avatar
    Member #
    5042
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    WI.
    Posts
    74
    Member #
    5042

    The Ranger is running on one cylinder

    Started today, nothing has been changed for 20 hrs.
    It idles rough, it did kill once but started right up, it's about
    20 to 40 RPM'S slower than yesterday, no gas added nothing changed.

    Thanks, dr4pat
    Forgot to tell you what it is 2010 HD
    VOTE OBAMA OUT OH SII!T WE ARE TO LATE


    2010 HD == with stuff

  2. #2
    (Steven) Regular Member sdgood1's Avatar
    Member #
    8143
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Chino Valley, AZ
    Posts
    146
    Member #
    8143
    Liked
    1 times

    intake???

    That's sorta how mine started!! Check the intake/throttle body adapter for a fine crack right where it's bolted to the head!!!!!!!! One way to check it is with some carb cleaner, sprayed on that area while it's idleing. If the idle goes up that could be the problem.
    My 08 had quite a few miles on it when it started, but this could be a symptom, and it's easy to check.
    Probably not your problem, but I ran mine for a year with it broke before it got bad enough to do something about. SO NOW I'm paranoid and I'm sure it's a conspiracy against me OK so maybe NOT!
    My penny's worth
    Steve
    08 700 XP silver edition
    2" lift, 27"bighorns, warn winch,DDP clutch kit, DJFAB mud kit and more
    PROPEOPLE, ANTIPOLITICIAN

  3. #3
    (Pat) Regular Member dr4pat's Avatar
    Member #
    5042
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    WI.
    Posts
    74
    Member #
    5042

    rough ldle

    Thanks for info, can't hurt to check
    Will a dirty TBAP sensor affect idle?
    Will a TPS affect idle?
    Thanks again dr4pat
    VOTE OBAMA OUT OH SII!T WE ARE TO LATE


    2010 HD == with stuff

  4. #4
    Supporting Member
    (Rich) PRC/SSW Moderator RZR Rich's Avatar
    Member #
    9029
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,541
    Member #
    9029
    Liked
    22 times
    Yes, if the TBAP is dirty/defective (broken wire(s) it could affect idle as well as a defective(broken wire(s) and or an out of adjustment TPS could do as well.
    Rich


    PRC: Super Moderator.
    Side x Side World: Director of Research and Information.

  5. #5
    (Chris) Veteran Member arrow99508's Avatar
    Member #
    11962
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Wasilla Alaska
    Posts
    258
    Member #
    11962
    mine had same problem. It was the TBAT. Local polaris dealer replace with a new wiring harness that is thicker than the original one. He said it was a common problem.


    Other Toys:
    Wife

  6. #6
    Supporting Member
    (Rich) PRC/SSW Moderator RZR Rich's Avatar
    Member #
    9029
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,541
    Member #
    9029
    Liked
    22 times
    Quote Originally Posted by arrow99508
    mine had same problem. It was the TBAP. Local polaris dealer replace with a new wiring harness that is thicker than the original one. He said it was a common problem.
    New connecter for TBAP #2875542 Kit Harness (Repair Kit )
    Rich


    PRC: Super Moderator.
    Side x Side World: Director of Research and Information.

  7. #7
    (Pat) Regular Member dr4pat's Avatar
    Member #
    5042
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    WI.
    Posts
    74
    Member #
    5042

    update

    On the 6th I posted on rough idle,slight miss.
    Yesterday, I was riding and came to a stop and the engine also quit,no backfire nothing. It started up, but on only one cylinder.
    Pulled the plugs out, both looked good, light tan color, swapped plugs to opposite cylinders, still run only on one cylinder. [did not check for spark on both plugs, did not think of that. It showed a 51 code]
    I took it to the dealer today. They though it was a injector, tried one from a different machine didn't change anything. They then tried a ECM from same machine, that I was told worked, they couldn't give me that one because the machine was going out tomorrow. they ordered one, hope to have it tomorrow.
    dr4pat
    I will continue when I get it back!
    VOTE OBAMA OUT OH SII!T WE ARE TO LATE


    2010 HD == with stuff

  8. #8
    Supporting Member
    (Jerry) Moderator/Rally Committee commanderjjones's Avatar
    Member #
    3228
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Harriman, TN
    Posts
    20,167
    Member #
    3228
    Liked
    120 times
    Are you sure it was the ECM and not the ECU that they replaced?
    Jerry
    PRC staff / SSW staff


    2012 RZR XP4 LE liquid silver / 2006 Ranger XP LE, midnight red, built 10/25/05

  9. #9
    (Pat) Regular Member dr4pat's Avatar
    Member #
    5042
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    WI.
    Posts
    74
    Member #
    5042

    rough idle

    Jerry:
    You are correct, I knew what I wanted to say just could'nt say it.
    They told me it came to them empty [?], the dealer had to download from software and put on new ECU.
    Does this mean they are clean [blank?] from Polaris??

    Anyway it seems to run just fine .

    P S It shows a 51 code when checking too see if there are any.
    dr4pat
    VOTE OBAMA OUT OH SII!T WE ARE TO LATE


    2010 HD == with stuff

  10. #10
    Supporting Member
    (Jerry) Moderator/Rally Committee commanderjjones's Avatar
    Member #
    3228
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Harriman, TN
    Posts
    20,167
    Member #
    3228
    Liked
    120 times

    Re: rough idle

    Quote Originally Posted by dr4pat
    Jerry:
    You are correct, I knew what I wanted to say just could'nt say it.
    They told me it came to them empty [?], the dealer had to download from software and put on new ECU.
    Does this mean they are clean [blank?] from Polaris??

    Anyway it seems to run just fine .

    P S It shows a 51 code when checking too see if there are any.
    dr4pat
    The ECU's used to come preprogrammed, but I believe that stopped a while back and they now have to be flashed (software installed) before they are usable.

    A code 51 is an injector code. If it seems to be running fine, I would try clearing the code and see if it returns.
    Jerry
    PRC staff / SSW staff


    2012 RZR XP4 LE liquid silver / 2006 Ranger XP LE, midnight red, built 10/25/05

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

2008 polaris ranger running on one cylinder

,

polaris twin 700 running on one cylinder

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.