PRC Polaris Ranger Club banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
616 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post in anticipation of buying a 2014/2015 Mid-Size Ranger Crew 570 EPS (my wife can drive it too). I live at 8600' altitude and plow snow on a steep driveway with two switchbacks. Currently use a 1996 Honda 300 4Trax with a 48" blade and tractor (when spring snow is heavy). Wondering if the 570 with a 72" blade would have enough power to plow my hill? Also, with four passengers and mountain travel taking us to just over 12,000', will it have the power to handle some fairly steep trails since some horsepower will be lost to altitude? Finally, anyone regret having bought the Mid-size 570? My old Honda has been bullet proof with almost no mechanical issues and I don't want a headache since we are 60+ miles from a Polaris dealer.

·
Registered
376 Posts
I have no 570 experience, but with the combination of factors you list, it seems the extra horsepower of the 900 would be a better option. I'm at 700 feet msl, and have no experience with that altitude. If you haven't already, maybe do a keyword search on "altitude". I have seen a few discussions on the topic that might be some benefit to you.

Reactions: Mtjag

·
Registered
2,038 Posts
I really doubt the 570 will let you down. That motor is very strong.

·
Registered
642 Posts
The 570 is a very impressive machine. I use it a lot for work around my property, always have a full cab as well. The last trip to the park, with a full cab, supplies in the bed, pulled a trailer with my buddies ranger loaded back to camp. It did well.

·
Registered
764 Posts
If your 4 trax can plow your driveway the 570 won't even break a sweat...even with a 6' blade....

·
Registered
616 Posts
Discussion Starter #6