PRC Polaris Ranger Club banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Members,

I am new to the PRC Forum and need some help.
I just purchased my first UTV, a 2009 700XP with 293hrs on the clock.
And she needs some TLC, first item for me to address is the front
driveshaft, the differential side u-joint is shot. I have replaced
many u-joints on cars and truck so I am good with that. But my question
is what is the best way to gain access to remove the shaft assy. ?
Also looks like I might need to replace the differential seal at the yoke as
it is seeping just slightly.
I just purchased an owners manual as it did not come with one, and I am
looking to purchase a service manual also.
I will be looking to preform preventative maintance also as I did not receive
any maint. records when I purchased the unit, therefore fuild and filter
changes all around will be coming up also.
Thanks in advance for your help. All I can say is WOW is there a lot of
information on this forum site!!

Regards,

Chet

·
Registered
44 Posts
Welcome Chet.

I replaced the ones in my 2010 800 last fall and had to remove the front differential. It sounds like you may need to do that anyway if your seal is seaping. Once front diff was out it came right out the front. I think an 09 will be the same but if not I'm sure someone on hear will let you know. Make sure you put greasable u joints back in.

·
Registered
596 Posts
I am not a big fan of driving out that roll pin by hitting on the pinion bearing. That is just bad business there and asking for trouble down the road. I would remove the bumper and diff with drive shaft attached. Then you can properly support the yoke to drive the pin out and not hammer on the bearings. The yoke is cheap and I would replace that too. The reason is that the splines are probable worn also.