PRC Polaris Ranger Club banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the market for a front windshield. Just curious about which would be the best for my 800 full size.

·
Registered
973 Posts
I have no experience with half vs. full windshields. As for myself, I purchased the full poly windshield, installed it and the more I looked at it decided go back and get a glass one. I'm sure there are very satisfied individuals with poly windshields here, but I wasn't impressed with the thinness and really questioned if that could within year-to-year challenges, i.e., a rider reaching up to wiping the dust on a dry surface, limbs checking trail cameras, etc., and decided to go glass. As you know, the glass is more expensive but for me worth it. Chances are with the 800's being phased out and with some patience, I bet you can get some nice options for the 800 now. Best of luck

·
Registered
22,344 Posts
There are several factors to consider.....mainly how you plan to use it.

Full vs. Half.......
If you ride in the cold frequently, I would get a full or pop open. If you don't get out in the cold, a half does a fine job of knocking off those cool morning winds.

Glass vs. Poly......
One of the age old debates. Glass is nice, won't scratch, and you can add a wiper kit......it's also expensive, but a good long term investment. The downside is that they can break and I've seen it happen often where I ride. If you don't ride in tight woods with a lot of overhanging limbs (etc...), glass is a good choice. Where I ride, poly is the norm and you can keep them scratch-free for a long time with proper care and a little caution........but yes, it will eventually get scratched up enough that you'll want to replace it.

·
Registered
1,662 Posts
I've had a Polaris full w/s on my '11 that I use in the cooler months. Visibility is still good, no qualms about getting it. I replace it w/ a homemmade 1/2 w/s in the summer.

·
Registered
11 Posts