PRC Polaris Ranger Club banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2015 midsize I'm looking to use a pulley system to help load things in the bed using O ring top anchors in the holes. Max expected side pull at any one hole location would be 80 lbs. I can reduce this loading by adding more pulleys and using more holes, but does anybody have a feel for how much loading this plastic can take? Has anyone cracked the bed doing something similar?

·
Registered
2015 Polaris ranger 570 XP
3,967 Posts
I have no experience doing what you are trying to do but I am dubious that using the bed holes for that purpose would go without damage at some point. The plastic in the beds, as does all plastic, tends to become less flexible and resilient with age. How long it would take for it to become brittle due to age alone I can't say, 10 years? 20? Then there is temperature to deal with. I can tell you first hand that the bed plastic will become more brittle with low temperatures. Mine cracked on the tailgate just below the handle to open it when I accidentally backed into a branch during cold weather. The impact wasn't very hard, in fact it was more pressure than impact, but the plastic broke. Fortunately I was able to plastic weld it from the inside by taking the tailgate apart so it's outwardly almost invisible. Then there is the heat of summer which will cause the plastic to soften and become more flexible. There are some forum members who have had the sides of their beds deform due to side loading in hot climates due to loads in the bed.