PRC Polaris Ranger Club banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I am an old fart, but I am new to Rangers. I picked up my first one today, a 2012 500 EFI with 66 hours and 418 miles on the odometer (see attached picture). I've used my son's Honda Rancher quite a bit, but until this week, I had not driven a side by side. Getting used to the CVT system is going to take a few days, but I have to say, I am VERY impressed with this little bugger so far. My land is in the driftless region of Iowa a few miles from the Mississippi River. I only have 36.5 acres but the elevation changes over 100 feet from one end of the place to another. Yeah, we've got hills. The only disappointment I've had with the Ranger so far is that I haven't found anywhere on the place where I really HAD to use four wheel drive, which is kind of amazing. With the stock Carlisle 489s I rarely need to go out of 1 wheel drive. Winter will change that, no doubt.

Anyway, I joined this forum to learn, and after lurking for a couple of days, I have certainly done that. I especially like the homemade modifications area. I'm not big on throwing money around to impress the next guy, so the Polaris steel wheels will get the job done, and so will the stock tires for the time being.

I've been attempting to teach 7-12 grade students the rudiments of the English language for the past 25 years or so, though I retired from full-time teaching a few years ago. I still sub quite a bit, but I believe this will be my last year of that. I've also worked in a couple factories, repaired firearms and fishing gear, and worked for 14 years as a police officer before a bum knee forced me into education. I enjoyed both careers, but have to say, education has been the most rewarding (though certainly not monetarily).