PRC Polaris Ranger Club banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am new to the side by side world. I just recently bought a 2012 800 crew, on a Friday. That Saturday we took it for the short ride to the in-laws. Then Sunday was using it again coming out of my driveway turn the wheel and nothing. Straight I got wheel turns. So I send it away to get fixed from a fella I know. Weird the shaft came off the rack doesn’t see any damage. Lined everything up and put back together. Before this happened the wheel was off center and can turn way sharper right then left. Now nothing has come apart but steering weird like that. Any advise? Much appreciated #newguy

·
Registered
5,620 Posts
" Now nothing has come apart but steering weird like that. Any advise?"

Welcome 207, Your plight is a bit hard to follow but it sounds like the splines are damaged where the steering shaft bolts to the rack and when you turn the wheel it is just skipping over them. Either that or the rack itself is just toast. You didn't mention miles or hours on the machine but a wore out steering rack is not uncommon . I would have someone who is really experienced with mechanics do a thorough check.

·
Registered
2,866 Posts
Just as Jungleman states, splines at the steering wheel/ shaft interface or splines at the steering shaft/rack input shaft interface. It's also possible that the rack itself is moving away from the pinion inside the steering box due to worn internals (bushings). I'm not sure but I don't think those steering gear boxes are servicable, at least my Service Manual doesn't have service information for them. There are after market companies making heavy duty steering boxes for some Rangers. Rackboss is one that comes to mind. There may be others.

·
Registered
5,620 Posts