PRC Polaris Ranger Club banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Some of you fellows are craftsman. Carpenters, welders, whatever- you’re really good at fabricating things from whatever materials you have. I’m not good at that. But… I have a new ETX and found myself in need of a dual crossbow rack. Cheap. Right now.

Now, this can’t even be classified as Carpentry- more like a monkey with a chopsaw- but I believe this dog’ll hunt. I’ll know after the first couple of weekends of bow season in Alabama.

Long story short, I was not sure how I was going to go about this, and I’m sure there are better ways. And even made of wood, there are ways to make a lighter one that would still work. But… I roll out for Alabama from Texas before daylight this Wednesday, and didn’t have time to sort out the finer points of woodworking.

These photos are pretty self-explanatory- started out with a box that fit the dimensions of the inside of the bed. So then what? Thought about it for a bit and ended up doing what you see here- first set up some sockets for the buts of the crossbows, with wedges of 2x6 inside cut to 22.5 degrees. Why 22.5 degrees? It was on the chopsaw dial. Once that was done the crossbows were set in those sockets and I eyeballed where the hooks on the vertical pieces needed to be so that the weight was on both it and the butt of the crossbow.

20161003_120914.jpg

20161005_190854.jpg

20161010_175134.jpg

Slapped on a coat of flat black, and set it up- using velcro strips (not the adhesive kind) to secure the stocks tight in the sockets. It’s heavy enough that it won’t bounce around too much, but I was trying to figure an easy way to make it stable… and my girlfriend (the reason for the dual rack) suggested I just use eyebolts and bungie cords as guy wires. Well then…. They work, and they don’t get in the way of the crossbows, so yep.

20161010_180419.jpg

20161010_180557.jpg