PRC Polaris Ranger Club banner
1 - 20 of 99 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just acquired a 2009 Ranger 700 XP Camo from my buddy for super cheap ($150). It hasn't ran for almost a year though. It currently shows 910 hours on the display. Is that considered a lot for the year? I'm new to these machines so have lots to learn. I started troubleshooting it this past weekend. Fuel pump was not kicking on and got a error code 41 on the display which lead me to the TBAP wire harness. One of the wires was broken and the others are a little damaged as well. I ordered a new harness from OTB Powersports.

I decided to remove the fuel pump to inspect it and see what the fuel looked like inside the tank and it was bad. The fuel pump was very corroded and the fuel in the tank was dirty. Pulled the tank out and cleaned it out, I also ordered a new fuel pump from amazon.

I'd like to replace the spark plugs, it currently has some Champion RC7YC3 plugs installed. Are these still good to run or should I switch to some NGK 4644 plugs? Any advice and guidance would be much appreciated. Thanks.

·
Administrator
7,761 Posts
Reactions: StinkerBean

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, I’ll definitely go that route. For some reason the oil dip stick is stuck. I can lift the lever and it will only pull out just a tad bit. Have any idea what could be going on? I haven’t tried giving it a hard pull yet. Don’t want to mess anything up.

·
Registered
1,651 Posts
Thanks, I’ll definitely go that route. For some reason the oil dip stick is stuck. I can lift the lever and it will only pull out just a tad bit. Have any idea what could be going on? I haven’t tried giving it a hard pull yet. Don’t want to mess anything up.
Some catch like that. Give it a quick sharp pull and it'll come out.

·
Administrator
7,761 Posts
Be sure to check that black canister filter above the fuel pump . They ALL get plugged and crack. Here is the cure ...

·
Registered